City Manual for 1901-1902



      The management of the Departments of Fire, Police, parks and Health is vested in commissions appointed by the Mayor and confirmed by Common Council. Similar commissions also have charge of the Public School System and Water Department. The members of the Commission of Public Instruction are appointed yearly by the Mayor and do not have to be confirmed by Common Council, while the Water Commissioners, six in number, are elected for terms of three years by Common Council.




(Commissioners, four; term, four years,; salary, $500 per annum.)

Wm J. Convery111 Jackson street street
Term expires January 1st, 1902.
Harry S. Maddock340 Hamilton avenue
Term expires January 1st, 1903.
Samuel B. Walker, Jr.222 Brunswick avenue
Term expires January 1st, 1904.
Robert Surtees525 Hudson street
Term expires January 1st, 1905.

   PRESIDENT — Robert Surtees.
   CLERK — Richard R. Lutes, 22 Railroad avenue.

CLOTHING — Convery, Walker, Maddock.
PRINTING — Maddock, Walker.
DISCIPLINE — Convery, Maddock, Walker, Surtees.

      Commission meets at Police Headquarters, Chancery street, on the second and last Wednesday in each month at 8 P. M.

Chief of Police.

Judson Hiner

515 South Clinton avenue.




Captain - First District.

John J. Cleary


226 Second street


Captain - Second District.

William Hartman


595 Centre street





Phineas Randolph


15 Sheridan avenue

William Dettmar


587 Chestnut avenue

Michael Magowan

595 S. Warren street

Andrew Sweeny


204 Spring street

Frank Vanhorn


30 Hudson street

James Mullen


313 Academy street





Charles Pilger


342 W. State street

John J. Clancy


301 Bellevue avenue





C.J. McNamara


719 Cass street

William Alcutt


124 Butler street

John W. Zenker

233 Bayard street

Charles H. Schanck

152 Kent street

SUPERINTENDENT OF POLICE TELEGRAPH—Oliver M. Schaefer, 214 North Warren street.

LINEMAN—M. W. Walton, 158 North Broad street.

POLICE SURGEON—William B. Van Duyn, 133 Perry street.

SECRETARY TO CHIEF OF POLICE—Benjamin Goldshalk, 501 Market street.


Wm. H. Hibbs,


Martin McDonald,

Theodore Weigand,


Edward Coughlin,

Henry Richter,


Jacob Walters,

Patrick O'Hara,


Ernest Hillman,


John Maguire,


John McDonough,

James B. Culliton,


Richard Bamford,

Dennis Lane,


John J. Donnelly,

Anthony Alcott,


John Heher,

Edward Fitzpatrick,


John Ryan,

James J. Fay,


James Feename,

Charles Irving,


Peter McLaughlin,

William H. Schenck,


William Thompson,

John Hoffman,


Luke D. Johnson,

William Deck,


L. R. Applegate,

William V. Adams,


William Sandhoff,

Richard Pilger,


Harry Walker,

John J. McCarthy,


Bernard Trainor,

Peter J. Smith,


George Fox,

Charles H. Smith,


Charles Connor,

George A. Clark,


James G. Ross,

John H. Hutchinson,


Agustus Kulp,

William Shockley,


John Goldenbaum,

Samuel Stout,


John W. Murphy,

Edward Kelly,


William J. Warren,

William Higgins,


Ivins H. Budd,

Joseph Tyrrell,


James O'Rourke,

Frank S. Higbee,


Thomas E. Thorp,

John H. Sanders,


Benj. K. McClurg,

George J. Healey,


Hamilton L. Crisp,

John Fulkert,


Lawrence E. Young,

William Malone,


Jospeh P. Crowe,

Michael Shannon,


John Butterer,

Oliver G. Cockram,


William Goodwin,

George Mathias,


James Keely,

Charles Heupeden,


John Ross,

Samuel Meyers,


Charles H. Caminade.

PATROL DRIVERS—Allen Rogers, Wesley Wooley, John Ridgeway.

JANITORS—James H. Smith, First District; Louis Hartman, Second District.